How the Swiss invest their money

Most Swiss people have invested money in at least one way. This is shown by a representative survey conducted by moneyland.ch. The comparison service asked 1,500 people from German- and French-speaking Switzerland how much money they have invested in which forms of investment. The study shows: Almost nine out of ten respondents (89%) invest at least some of their money in private accounts. This makes private accounts the most widespread way of investing money. Even savings accounts are used for investing at 83%; this is despite the fact that savings accounts are usually explicitly targeted at people who want to hold their money for the long term. "Many bank customers don't know the difference between personal and savings accounts. Even in the current low-interest phase, some banks still offer a little more interest on savings accounts," says Benjamin Manz, CEO of moneyland.ch.

Few people put their money under the mattress

The third most popular form of investment is keeping cash at home. However, 42% of respondents have only a little cash at home. Only 8% say they keep a lot or even all of their money in cash. Even people who keep their cash in a safe deposit box often only do so with a small amount. By comparison, for almost all other forms of investment, most respondents invest a medium amount or nothing at all in each case. Real estate is an exception: 14% of the Swiss have invested a large amount or even their entire assets in real estate. Only 13% say it is a medium amount.

Pension funds are becoming increasingly popular

These traditional ways of holding money are followed by retirement provision: 65% of respondents say they have invested money with a pension fund. Likewise, more than 50% each have paid into 3a retirement funds or securities solutions and third-pillar savings accounts. Pension funds and securities solutions in particular have gained in popularity compared with the previous year. "This is likely due primarily to the low interest rate environment," Manz said. "In addition, pension apps are making third-pillar investing increasingly easy and often cheaper."

Retirement planning is a big topic, especially among people aged 26 to 49. Although third-pillar retirement solutions, for example, are among the most widespread forms of investment in Switzerland, only slightly more than one-third of 18- to 25-year-olds say they have paid money into 3a retirement funds or savings accounts in each case. "At a young age, financial provisioning is understandably not yet a big issue," says Manz.

Around a quarter invests in Swiss equities

Swiss equities continue to have a small lead among the local population: 27% of respondents say they invest in Swiss stocks. Foreign stocks are held in the portfolios of 22% of the Swiss.

Cryptocurrencies become even more popular

Bitcoin & Co. have become much more popular again in 2022 with a total of 18%. In particular, cryptocurrencies other than bitcoin are used much more frequently for investing compared to the previous year. "Cryptocurrencies have arrived with the broad investor base. Nevertheless, this speculative form of investment remains highly risky," warns Manz.

Inflation fuels gold investments

Meanwhile, more than a quarter of the population (26%) also holds gold as an investment. "This is likely a reaction to global inflation," comments Manz. "Gold is still seen by many investors as a protection against inflation." Currently, therefore, almost as many Swiss own gold as Swiss equities (27%). However, similar to cash, most people who have money invested in gold say it is only a small amount. The same is true for other precious metals.

Men invest more often than women

Men state that they have invested money in all forms of investment more often than women. In particular, funds as well as shares are more popular than average among men. For example, 31% of men say they invest in ETFs. Among women, the figure is just 18%. "However, it is conceivable that women will catch up in the coming years," says analyst Raphael Knecht of moneyland.ch. "Currently, there are various movements that specifically motivate women to invest their money."

Old people invest less often than younger people

People over 49 tend to invest less: in almost all categories, respondents in the 50 to 74 age group say they have invested money less often than average. It is particularly striking in the case of cryptocurrencies, for example: Only 6% of those over 49 have invested in Bitcoin. The Swiss average across all age groups is 18%.

Only in the case of real estate do slightly more older people than younger people say they have invested, at 40%. By comparison, the overall average is 35%. "Real estate is an investment asset that also has a use as a residential property without having to sell it," comments Manz. So, he says, it's conceivable that many older Swiss will live in their own property. "Many younger people also can't afford to invest in real estate because of the large capital requirements."

The Rösti Rift also shows up in investments

In German-speaking Switzerland, almost all forms of investment are more widespread than in French-speaking Switzerland. For example, 28% of the German-speaking Swiss own gold. Ennet des Röstigrabens, the figure is only 21%. Pension solutions are also less frequently used as a form of investment in French-speaking Switzerland. Only life insurance and real estate are somewhat more popular among the French than in German-speaking Switzerland: 40% of respondents in French-speaking Switzerland have life insurance. In German-speaking Switzerland, by contrast, the figure is only 36%.

So legen Schweizerinnen und Schweizer ihr Geld an

Kontolösungen sind bei Herrn und Frau Schweizer sehr beliebt. Zweidrittel haben Geld in eine Pensionskasse investiert und mehr als die Hälfte hat in 3a-Vorsorgefonds oder -Wertschriftenlösungen sowie Sparkonten der dritten Säule eingezahlt.

Die meisten Schweizerinnen und Schweizer haben Geld auf mindestens eine Art angelegt. Das zeigt eine repräsentative Umfrage von moneyland.ch. Der Vergleichsdienst hat 1500 Personen aus der Deutsch- und Westschweiz befragt, wie viel Geld sie in welche Anlageformen investiert haben. Die Studie zeigt: Fast neun von zehn Befragten (89%) legen mindestens einen Teil ihres Gelds auf dem Privatkonto an. Damit sind Privatkonten die am weitesten verbreitete Art, Geld anzulegen. Selbst Sparkonten werden mit 83% fürs Investieren genutzt; dies, obwohl Sparkonten in der Regel ausdrücklich Personen ansprechen, die ihr Geld langfristig halten wollen. «Viele Bankkunden kennen den Unterschied zwischen Privat- und Sparkonto nicht. Sogar in der jetzigen Tiefzinsphase gibt es bei manchen Banken aber noch ein bisschen mehr Zins auf dem Sparkonto», sagt Benjamin Manz, Geschäftsführer von moneyland.ch.

Die Wenigsten legen ihr Geld unter die Matratze

Die drittbeliebteste Anlageform ist, Bargeld zu Hause aufzubewahren. 42% der Befragten haben allerdings nur wenig Bargeld zu Hause. Lediglich 8% geben an, dass sie viel oder sogar ihr gesamtes Geld in bar aufbewahren. Auch Personen, die ihr Bargeld in einem Schliessfach aufbewahren, tun dies oft nur mit einem kleinen Betrag. Zum Vergleich: Bei fast allen anderen Anlageformen investieren die meisten Befragten jeweils einen mittleren Betrag oder gar nichts. Eine Ausnahme sind Immobilien: 14% der Schweizerinnen und Schweizer haben einen grossen Betrag oder sogar ihr gesamtes Vermögen in Immobilien investiert. Lediglich 13% sagen, dass es sich um einen mittleren Betrag handelt.

Vorsorgefonds werden immer beliebter

Auf diese herkömmlichen Arten, Geld zu halten, folgt die Altersvorsorge: 65% der Befragten geben an, dass sie Geld bei einer Pensionskasse investiert haben. Ebenfalls je über 50% der Bevölkerung haben in 3a-Vorsorgefonds oder -Wertschriftenlösungen sowie Sparkonten der dritten Säule eingezahlt. Besonders die Vorsorgefonds und Wertschriftenlösungen haben im Vergleich zum Vorjahr an Beliebtheit gewonnen. «Das dürfte vor allem am Tiefzinsumfeld liegen», so Manz. «Zudem machen Vorsorge-Apps das Investieren in die dritte Säule immer einfacher und oft auch günstiger.»

Die Altersvorsorge ist vor allem bei Personen im Alter von 26 bis 49 Jahren ein grosses Thema. Obwohl beispielsweise Vorsorgelösungen der dritten Säule in der Schweiz zu den verbreitetsten Anlageformen gehören, sagt jeweils nur etwas mehr als ein Drittel der 18- bis 25-Jährigen, dass sie Geld in 3a-Vorsorgefonds oder -Sparkonten eingezahlt haben. «Im jugendlichen Alter ist die finanzielle Vorsorge verständlicherweise noch kein grosses Thema», so Manz.

Rund ein Viertel investiert in Schweizer Aktien

Schweizer Aktien haben bei der hiesigen Bevölkerung weiterhin einen kleinen Vorsprung: 27% der Befragten geben an, dass sie in Schweizer Titel investieren. Ausländische Aktien befinden sich im Portfolio von 22% der Schweizerinnen und Schweizer.

Kryptowährungen werden noch beliebter

Bitcoin & Co. sind 2022 mit insgesamt 18% noch einmal wesentlich beliebter geworden. Besonders andere Kryptowährungen als der Bitcoin werden im Vergleich zum Vorjahr viel häufiger fürs Investieren genutzt. «Kryptowährungen sind bei der breiten Anlegerschaft angekommen. Trotzdem bleibt diese spekulative Anlageform in höchstem Mass riskant», warnt Manz.

Inflation schürt Gold-Anlagen

Mittlerweile hält auch über ein Viertel der Bevölkerung (26%) Gold als Anlage. «Das dürfte eine Reaktion auf die weltweite Inflation sein», kommentiert Manz. «Gold gilt für viele Anleger immer noch als Schutz gegen Inflation.» Aktuell besitzen somit fast so viele Schweizerinnen und Schweizer Gold wie Schweizer Aktien (27%). Ähnlich wie bei Bargeld sagen allerdings die meisten Personen, die Geld in Gold investiert haben, dass es nur ein kleiner Betrag ist. Dasselbe gilt auch bei anderen Edelmetallen.

Männer investieren öfter als Frauen

Männer geben bei allen Anlageformen öfter als Frauen an, dass sie Geld investiert haben. Insbesondere Fonds sowie Aktien sind bei Männern überdurchschnittlich beliebt. So sagen beispielsweise 31% der Männer, dass sie in ETFs investieren. Bei den Frauen sind es lediglich 18%. «Es ist jedoch denkbar, dass Frauen in den kommenden Jahren aufholen werden», sagt Analyst Raphael Knecht von moneyland.ch. «Aktuell gibt es verschiedene Bewegungen, die speziell Frauen dazu motivieren, ihr Geld zu investieren.»

Alte investieren seltener als Jüngere

Personen über 49 Jahre investieren tendenziell weniger: In fast allen Kategorien geben die Befragten in der Altersgruppe von 50 bis 74 Jahre unterdurchschnittlich oft an, dass sie Geld angelegt haben. Besonders markant ist es beispielsweise bei den Kryptowährungen: Nur 6% der über 49-Jährigen haben in Bitcoin investiert. Im schweizweiten Durchschnitt über alle Altersgruppen sind es 18%.

Lediglich bei den Immobilien sagen mit 40% etwas mehr ältere Menschen als Jüngere, dass sie investiert haben. Zum Vergleich: Im gesamthaften Durchschnitt sind es 35%. «Immobilien sind Anlagegüter, die als Wohnobjekte auch einen Nutzen haben, ohne dass man sie verkaufen muss», kommentiert Manz. Es sei also denkbar, dass viele ältere Schweizerinnen und Schweizer ihre eigene Immobilie bewohnen. «Viele jüngere Personen können sich die Investition in Immobilien wegen des grossen Kapitalbedarfs auch gar nicht leisten.»

Röstigraben zeigt sich auch bei Investments

In der Deutschschweiz sind fast alle Anlageformen weiterverbreitet als in der Romandie. So besitzen beispielsweise 28% der Deutschschweizerinnen und Deutschschweizer Gold. Ennet des Röstigrabens sind es lediglich 21%. Auch Vorsorgelösungen werden in der Westschweiz weniger oft als Anlageform genutzt. Lediglich Lebensversicherungen und Immobilien sind bei den Romands etwas beliebter als in der Deutschschweiz: So haben 40% der Westschweizer Befragten eine Lebensversicherung. In der Deutschschweiz sind es hingegen nur 36%.